What Have We Done: A Novel (Hardcover)

What Have We Done: A Novel By Alex Finlay Cover Image

What Have We Done: A Novel (Hardcover)

$27.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 14 3:00pm
(MSN)

In this “top-notch mystery thriller” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) from Alex Finlay, What Have We Done is a tale about the lives we leave behind and the secrets we carry with us forever.

One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2023:• BookPage • BookBub • E! News • Go BookMart • Goodreads • PopSugar The Every Girl • She Reads • Beyond the Bookends

A stay-at-home mom with a past.
A has-been rock star with a habit.
A reality TV producer with a debt.
Three disparate lives.
One deadly secret.

Twenty five years ago, Jenna, Donnie, and Nico were the best of friends, having forged a bond through the abuse and neglect they endured as residents of Savior House, a group home for parentless teens. When the home was shut down—after the disappearance of several kids—the three were split up.

Though the trauma of their childhood has never left them, each went on to live accomplished—if troubled—lives. They haven’t seen one another since they were teens but now are reunited for a single haunting reason: someone is trying to kill them.

To survive, the group will have to revisit the nightmares of their childhoods and confront their shared past—a past that holds the secret to why someone wants them dead.

It’s a reunion none of them asked for . . . or wanted. But it may be the only way to save all their lives.

What Have We Done is both an edge-of-your-seat thriller and a gut-wrenching coming-of-age story. And it cements Alex Finlay as one of the new leading voices in thrillers today.

ALEX FINLAY is the author of several critically acclaimed novels, including the 2021 breakout Every Last Fear and the 2022 Goodreads Choice Nominee for Best Mystery & Thriller The Night Shift. His work regularly appears on best-of-the-year lists and has been translated into twenty-two languages, and all of his novels have been optioned for film or television. Every Last Fear is in development for a major limited series. Alex lives in Washington, D.C., and Virginia.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250863720
ISBN-10: 1250863724
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: March 7th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English

A LibraryRead Hall of Fame Selection for March – Best Book Voted by Librarians
One of BuzzFeed’s “Most-Anticipated Thrillers of 2023”
One of BookPage’s “2023 Most-Anticipated Mystery & Suspense”
One of BookBub’s “Most-Anticipated Books of 2023”
One of Goodreads’s “2023 Most Anticipated Mysteries & Thrillers”
One of Go BookMart’s “15 Most Anticipated Books of 2023”
One of Novel Suspects’s “20 Psychological Thrillers We’re Excited to Read this Year”
One of PopSugar’s “Best Thriller Books Hitting Shelves In March”
One of She Reads’s “Most-Anticipated Thrillers Coming in 2023”
One of The Every Girl’s “20 Most Anticipated Books of Winter

“[A] top-notch mystery thriller . . . . Readers will eagerly follow the maze-like plot, with its many twists and turns, to the exciting conclusion. This isn’t to be missed.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Finlay has mastered the thriller genre with this novel . . . Finlay superbly creates a character-driven coming-of-age tale that is full of twists.”―Library Journal

“[Finlay’s novels] have earned him a reputation for producing suspenseful, fast-paced thrillers. As usual, his characters are well drawn, his writing is tight and vivid, and he keeps readers guessing with a series of twists and red herrings.”—Associated Press

"[Finlay's] gripping tale delivers both heart-pounding action and plenty of twists to keep the reader guessing. A thoroughly entertaining "popcorn thriller"—just right for fans of Riley Sager's Final Girls and Stacy Willingham's A Flicker in the Dark."—Booklist

"Finlay makes skilled use of point of view.. Fast-paced action and a compelling study of friendships power this suspenseful thriller."—Kirkus

“[A] thriller that will have your pulse and mind racing.”E! News

“A highly entertaining, addictive thriller . . . Finlay [has] become one of the must-read voices in crime fiction today.”―Mystery & Suspense Magazine

"Explosive, whip-smart, and compulsively readable, What Have We Done sets a new high-water mark as Alex Finlay’s best thriller yet"—Sarah Pekkanen, New York Times bestselling co-author of The Golden Couple

"A next-level thriller that brims with dark surprises and unforgettable characters inextricably connected by their pasts, loyalties, and an unspeakable secret. Inventive, immersive, and downright addictive, What Have We Done had me flying through the pages. Put this one on the top of your to-be-read list."—Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Overnight Guest

"Alex Finlay proves once again he’s a master storyteller. What Have We Done has unrelenting action, inspired characters, and an innovative, pulse pounding plot. Alex Finlay has become one of today’s top thriller writers. This is why. Read this book.”—Robert Dugoni, New York Times bestselling author

“This is the very best kind of thriller: fast, smart, and not a wasted word. Alex Finlay is a master at making the pages fly past.”—James Kestrel, Edgar-award winning author of Five Decembers

Praise for Alex Finlay

"High-energy . . . Finlay expands the puzzle and ratchets up the action."—New York Times on Every Last Fear

"He grabs readers from the very first line and keeps them propulsively turning pages with absolutely thrilling cliffhangers."—Newsweek

"A suspenseful tale . . . Finlay spins it at a rapid pace, his characters well-drawn and his tangled plot expertly developed. The twists arrive at a dizzying pace."—Associated Press on The Night Shift

"It's safe to say Finlay is one of the genre's most exciting voices."—E! News

"Alex Finlay is a literary force to be reckoned with."—Providence Journal