Cradles of the Reich: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Cradles of the Reich: A Novel By Jennifer Coburn Cover Image

Cradles of the Reich: A Novel (Hardcover)

$27.99


On Our Shelves Now
12 on hand, as of Nov 21 4:18pm
(GFN)

Staff Reviews


If looking for an Historical Fiction WWII book that touches on a different aspect of the war this is the one to read. This book is based on the Nazi’s breeding program “Lebensborn”. The Nazi’s wanted more racially pure Aryan children. So, they encouraged Aryan women to get pregnant by Aryan men no matter their marital status. These women were then taken care of by the government until the baby was born. In Cradles of the Reich, we follow 3 woman who go to one of these homes – each under different circumstances. So, you get 3 perspectives of the sinister nature of this program. As a big Historical Fiction fan, I highly recommend this book.

— Jill

"Every historical fiction novel should strive to be this compelling, well-researched and just flat-out good." — Associated Press

For fans of The Nightingale and The Handmaid's Tale, Cradles of the Reich uncovers a topic rarely explored in fiction: the Lebensborn project, a Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race. Through thorough research and with deep empathy, this chilling historical novel goes inside one of the Lebensborn Society maternity homes that existed in several countries during World War II, where thousands of "racially fit" babies were bred and taken from their mothers to be raised as part of the new Germany.

At the Heim Hochland maternity home in Bavaria, three women's lives coverage as they find themselves there under very different circumstances. Gundi is a pregnant university student from Berlin. An Aryan beauty, she's secretly a member of a resistance group. Hilde, only eighteen, is a true believer in the cause and is thrilled to carry a Nazi official's child. And Irma, a 44-year-old nurse, is desperate to build a new life for herself after personal devastation. Despite their opposing beliefs, all three have everything to lose as they begin to realize they are trapped within Hitler's terrifying scheme to build a Nazi-Aryan nation. 

A cautionary tale for modern times told in stunning detail, Cradles of the Reich uncovers a little-known Nazi atrocity but also carries an uplifting reminder of the power of women to set aside differences and work together in solidarity in the face of oppression.

"Skillfully researched and told with great care and insight, here is a World War II story whose lessons should not—must not—be forgotten." — Susan Meissner, bestselling author of The Nature of Fragile Things

Jennifer Coburn is the author of Cradles of the Reich, a historical novel about three very different women living at a Nazi Lebensborn breeding home at the start of World War ll.

She has also published a mother-daughter travel memoir, We'll Always Have Paris, as well as six contemporary women's novels. Additionally, Jennifer has contributed to five literary anthologies, including A Paris All Your Own.

Jennifer lives in San Diego with her husband, William. Their daughter, Katie is currently in graduate school. When Jennifer is not going down historical research rabbit holes, she volunteers with So Say We All, a live storytelling organization, where she is a performer, producer, and performance coach. She is also an active volunteer with Reality Changers, a nonprofit that supports low-income high school students in becoming the first in their families to attend college.

Product Details ISBN: 9781728250748
ISBN-10: 1728250749
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: October 11th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English

"Sets high bar for historical fiction...Every historical fiction novel should strive to be this compelling, well-researched and just flat-out good." — Associated Press



"With this novel Jennifer Coburn gives compelling and necessary literary voice to those impacted the most by Adolf Hitler’s haunting and ironically dehumanizing scheme to generate racially pure infants. Skillfully researched and told with great care and insight, here is a World War II story whose lessons should not—must not—be forgotten." — Susan Meissner, bestselling author of The Nature of Fragile Things



"The Handmaid's Tale meets WWII in Cradles of the Reich, which explores the little-known history of Hitler's Lebensborn program and its goal of mass-breeding racially fit babies for the master race. Three German women are destined to collide at a Bavarian breeding home: a blond beauty desperately concealing her unborn child's Jewish heritage, a Nazi official's fanatical young mistress, and a nurse determined to keep her head down in the home's increasingly sinister program of forced adoptions, queasy eugenics, and racial cleansing. Jennifer Coburn's debut historical novel is adept, unforgettable, and brilliantly unsettling!" — Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code



"I loved Cradles of the Reich, Jennifer Coburn's fascinating and incredibly well-researched look at this little-known Nazi breeding program and three women whose lives intersect there. Don't miss this wonderful historical fiction debut!" — Martha Hall Kelly, New York Times bestselling author of The Lilac Girls and Sunflower Sisters



"Cradles of the Reich masterfully delves into the warped underbelly of the Nazi’s Lebensborn Program for racial engineering. With grace and a deft hand, Jennifer Coburn creates indelible female characters that leave us heart torn. This book kept me breathless from chapter to chapter. I couldn’t put it down until the final heroic page." — Sarah McCoy, New York Times bestselling author of Mustique Island



"The hopes and dreams of three women collide in this shocking story about a little-known Nazi breeding home in Bavaria. Jennifer Coburn has written a brave and highly original novel; fans of historical fiction will find it compelling—and indeed essential—reading." — Kitty Zeldis, author of Not Our Kind



"A deep well of discussion topics for book-club readers." — Kirkus



"...Ample topics for discussion groups. For fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls, Lisa See's The Island of Sea Women, Jennifer Worth's Call the Midwife, and World War II women’s stories." — Booklist