The Company Daughters: A heart-wrenching colonial love story (Paperback)

The Company Daughters: A heart-wrenching colonial love story Cover Image

The Company Daughters: A heart-wrenching colonial love story (Paperback)

$10.99


On Our Shelves Now
This book is Non-returnable.
1 on hand, as of Jan 20 11:43am
(GFN)

Wanted: Company Daughters. Virtuous young ladies to become the brides of industrious settlers in a foreign land. The Company will pay the cost of the lady's dowry and travel. Returns not permitted, orphans preferred.


Amsterdam, 1620. Jana Beil has learned that life rarely provides moments of joy. Having run away from a violent father, her days are spent searching for work in an effort to stay out of the city brothels, where desperate women trade their bodies for a mouthful of bread. But when Jana is hired as a servant for the wealthy and kind Master Reynst and his beautiful daughter Sontje, Jana's future begins to look brighter.


But then Master Reynst loses his fortune on a bad investment, and everything changes. The house is sold to creditors, leaving Jana back on the street and Sontje without a future.


With no other choice, Jana and Sontje are forced to sign with the East India Company as Company Daughters: sailing to a colonial Dutch outpost to become the brides of male settlers they know nothing about. With fear in their hearts, the girls begin their journey - but what awaits them on the other side of the world is nothing like what they've been promised...


Based on true history, this is a beautiful and sensual historical novel, perfect for fans of The Girl with the Pearl Earring, The Miniaturist and The Indigo Girl.


What readers are saying about The Company Daughters:



'I was enchanted by this book It's a delightful read that will have your emotions all over the place.' Goodreads reviewer


'Heartbreaking but still in turn a moving book... vivid, with amazing characters... This is a great read.' Goodreads reviewer


'This book is so stunningly tender and beautiful, all mixed in with some seriously tragic and heart-wrenching events... Rajaram is an extremely skilled writer, and I love her writing style... The themes of sisterhood and female love were so present in this book and I found it very moving.' Goodreads reviewer

Product Details ISBN: 9781800191761
ISBN-10: 1800191766
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: October 30th, 2020
Pages: 392
Language: English